Weekend Recap

Since I actually did the activities in this week’s Brunch post, it only seemed right that I fill you in on the adventure.

After crossing the Park, Dad and I arrived at the Met. And although I did not eat yogurt on the steps, it did make me wish I was Blair, if only a little.

We quickly became members, which I would definitely suggest, since you get free entrance and oodles of other amazing deals.

Our first stop was the Tomás Saraceno on the Roof: Cloud City Installation. Luckily, Saturday was very nice, and we were able to enjoy the beautiful views from the roof, as well as the amazing sculpture, which people could actually go up in! (I did not as I am afraid of heights!)

And of course, you can’t have a giant mirrored object without people checking themselves out (myself included, oops!) and taking selfies.

We continued on to the Schiaparelli and Prada: Impossible Conversations Exhibit. We could not take pictures, but it is worth a trip. I loved the use of multimedia, and mirrors! Videos projected on the walls actually sat Schiaparelli (played by an actress) and Prada at opposite ends of a table and had them talk to each other. Inspiring quotes lined the walls, and mirrored columns and walls made the space feel bigger. And then there were the clothes. Of course, a good amount of Schiaparelli’s designs were represented by photographs, but everything was still stunning. They even included Prada’s most recent footwear collection.

My only critique is that, after being to the Yves St. Laurent exhibit at Le Petit Palais in Paris two years ago, the Impossible Conversations exhibit was smaller than I expected.

Our last stop was The Dawn of Egyptian Art exhibit. I have always been fascinated by Egyptian culture, and the artifacts we saw predated anything I had ever seen before! There were very early sculptures, a lot of hippopotami, and a bunch of unanswered questions. It is exhibits like this one that really make me curious about the past.

Here’s to a great weekend, and looking forward to an amazing week ahead!

Leave a Reply

